Teamlilit makes one of the tools on this list. We wrote this comparison ourselves, nobody paid to be included, and every fact about another product links to that company's own page, read on 24 October 2026.
Teachworks bills a monthly base plus a fee for every student lesson, so its cost rises with each lesson you teach. The eight alternatives below price the same job differently: per tutor (TutorBird), per live or active student in steps (Teach 'n Go, Oases Online), per session (Wise), a share of what you invoice or collect online (Tutorbase, Class Manager), a monthly plan plus a percentage on payments (TutorCruncher), or one flat monthly plan (Teamlilit). The second thing that separates them is where the lesson happens. TutorCruncher and Teamlilit host video inside the product, Wise bundles Zoom into its platform, TutorBird connects to tools you run alongside it, as Teachworks does, and the others do not state a classroom on the pages we read.
What Teachworks costs as your lessons grow
Teachworks has three plans, each a monthly base plus a fee per student lesson, billed monthly on its pricing page: Starter US$16.49 plus US$0.320, Growth US$47.99 plus US$0.189, and Premium US$187.99 plus US$0.065. The unit is counted per student, in Teachworks' own words: "a lesson with 1 student is 1 student lesson, a lesson with 2 students is two student lessons, etc. This count excludes cancelled lessons."
Here is what the published figures add up to. One hundred student lessons is about 23 one-to-one lessons a week; a weekly group of six students adds about 26 student lessons a month on its own.
| Student lessons a month | Starter | Growth | Premium |
|---|---|---|---|
| 50 | US$32.49 | US$57.44 | US$191.24 |
| 100 | US$48.49 | US$66.89 | US$194.49 |
| 200 | US$80.49 | US$85.79 | US$200.99 |
| 300 | US$112.49 | US$104.69 | US$207.49 |
Starter stays cheaper than Growth up to 240 student lessons a month; from 241, Growth costs less. Premium only costs less than Growth from 1,130 student lessons a month. The plans also differ in what they include, so this is the price arithmetic, not a recommendation of a plan.
Why tutors look for an alternative to Teachworks
Only two reasons here come from Teachworks' own pages. Neither is a complaint; they are how the product is built.
The bill moves with your teaching, not with your business. Every student in every lesson adds to the month, and a group class adds once per student. A good month and a busy exam season cost more, and the number is only known when the month ends. Tutors who want to know the software cost in advance tend to look at per-tutor or flat pricing.
The lesson happens somewhere else. Teachworks says it "works with any external whiteboard & conferencing tools that provide users with a link to a room or space", and its Location Links add-on turns a location into a clickable link to Zoom, Google Meet or Skype in the calendar and in lesson reminder emails (online tutoring add-on). That works well if you already like your video tool. It also means two products, two logins and a link to keep right for every location.
Where Teachworks is still the better choice
- At low volume. Fifty student lessons a month cost US$32.49 on Starter, below the entry price of Teach 'n Go, Oases Online or Teamlilit Pro.
- For a team. Every plan has unlimited students, unlimited teachers and unlimited user accounts, so adding a tutor adds nothing to the base. Premium includes five branch accounts, then US$35 a month per extra branch.
- For card payments. With the Stripe integration, clients pay invoices online by card and the payments are recorded in Teachworks automatically. Teamlilit, below, does not take payments at all.
- For a longer test. The free trial is 21 days.
- If you want to keep your own video tool. The link-based approach above is a strength when Zoom, Google Meet or Skype is already part of how you teach.
Eight alternatives side by side
Prices are list prices as each vendor shows them, read on 24 October 2026. "Not stated" means the vendor's pages we read do not say, not that the feature is missing.
Who each one is for, and what it costs
| Product | Who it is for, in its own words | How the price scales | From |
|---|---|---|---|
| Teachworks (for reference) | Tutoring centres, language, music and driving schools | Base plus a fee per student lesson | US$16.49 a month + US$0.320 per student lesson |
| Class Manager | Class management software | A service charge on payments processed online | No subscription; charge not published |
| Oases Online | Tutoring centres, test prep, after-school programmes | Steps by active students | US$99 a month, up to 25 active students |
| Teach 'n Go | Schools | Steps by live students | €69 or US$79 a month, up to 100 live students |
| Teamlilit | Independent tutors and small teaching businesses | Flat monthly plan | €29 a month (Solo) |
| Tutorbase | Tutoring businesses | 1% of what you invoice | No subscription |
| TutorBird | Tutors | Per tutor or staff member | US$16.95 a month + US$4.95 per extra tutor |
| TutorCruncher | Tutoring companies | Monthly plan plus a percentage on payments | £25 a month + 2.65% card fees, before tax |
| Wise | Tutoring businesses | Per session, per seat or enterprise | US$160 a month for 200 sessions |
Trial, lessons, payments and languages
| Product | Trial | Classroom | Online payments | Languages |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teachworks (for reference) | 21 days | Integrated: links to Zoom, Google Meet, Skype | Card, through Stripe | Not stated |
| Class Manager | Not stated | Not stated | AutoPay via Stripe | Not stated |
| Oases Online | Free demo | Not stated | Payment processing | Not stated |
| Teach 'n Go | 14 days, no card | Not stated | Stripe or PayPal | 24 languages |
| Teamlilit | 14 days, no card | Hosted in the browser | None: tutors are paid directly | English, French, Spanish, German |
| Tutorbase | Free to start, no card | Not stated | Card, through a student portal | Not stated |
| TutorBird | 30 days | Integrated: Zoom, Lessonspace | Stripe, PayPal | English, French, Spanish, Dutch, German, Polish |
| TutorCruncher | 2 weeks | Hosted: built-in video | Card, with fees by plan | Not stated |
| Wise | Free start, length not stated | Integrated: Zoom licences bundled | Online payments, no cut taken | Not stated |
How we chose and checked
A product is on this page if a tutor or tutoring business uses it to run lessons or the business, it has a public pricing page, and it is not a marketplace that supplies students. The order is alphabetical, and nothing on the page is a score or a rank.
Every competitor fact comes from that company's own pricing or feature pages, read in a browser on 24 October 2026 and archived with the text and a screenshot. No review sites or aggregators were used. Teamlilit's own facts come from its facts page, and its limits are listed as plainly as anyone else's.
Class Manager: no subscription, a charge on online payments
Class Manager has "No monthly subscription". Instead it takes "Just a flat service charge for any payments processed online", with tailored pricing for high volumes (Class Manager prices). Payments run through AutoPay via Stripe, families get a self-service parent and student portal, and attendance is tracked digitally.
What changes if you leave Teachworks for it: the cost stops following your lesson count and starts following the money you collect online. A month of lessons paid by bank transfer costs nothing in software.
Where it is weaker: the service charge is not published on the pricing page, so you cannot work out your cost before you sign up, and the pages we read do not state a classroom.
Oases Online: priced by active students, built for centres
Oases Online has been "Supporting tutoring businesses since 2003" and is built "For tutoring centers, test-prep companies, after-school programs, and other session-based education providers" (Oases Online pricing). Its plans step up with active students: Starter is US$99 a month for up to 25, and Ultimate US$699 a month for up to 350. It processes payments and automates invoicing.
What changes if you leave Teachworks for it: you pay for how many students are active, not how many lessons they take, which suits a centre where each student comes several times a week.
Where it is weaker: the entry price is six times Teachworks Starter's base, it offers a free demo rather than a stated trial, and the page does not state a classroom.
Teach 'n Go: priced by live students, for schools
Teach 'n Go says "Every plan includes everything you need to run your school". It costs €69 or US$79 a month for up to 100 live students, with Pro at €99 or US$109, and bands up to 2,000 live students; teachers and classes are unlimited (Teach 'n Go pricing). Schools connect Stripe or PayPal so parents and students can pay online (payments), and the system supports 24 languages. The trial is 14 days, without a card.
What changes if you leave Teachworks for it: like Teachworks, adding teachers costs nothing, but the bill moves in bands of students rather than with every lesson, so a busy month inside the same band costs the same.
Where it is weaker: it is priced and written for schools, so a solo tutor starts at €69 or US$79, and the pages we read do not state a classroom.
Teamlilit: one flat price, with the classroom inside
Teamlilit is €29 a month on Solo, €69 on Pro and €119 on Academy, with nothing per lesson or per student (pricing). The lesson runs inside it: a browser classroom with HD video, screen sharing, a collaborative whiteboard and chat, so no separate video app is needed. When students join, their join and leave times are recorded automatically, and invoice lines are generated from the lessons each student actually attended, at that student's rate. A monthly recurring schedule drafts each invoice for you to review and send. The interface is in English, French, Spanish and German. Every new account starts with a 14-day trial with all Pro features, without a card.
What changes if you leave Teachworks for it: the price no longer depends on how much you teach, and the video, attendance and invoice live in one place instead of a calendar link to another tool. The head-to-head is on Teamlilit vs Teachworks.
Where it is weaker: Teamlilit does not collect, hold or process money, so there are no card payments through it; families pay you directly and you record the payment. It sends no SMS, its Google Calendar sync is one way, and it does not sync with QuickBooks or Xero. Solo covers one-to-one lessons only (group classes need Pro), Solo and Pro have one staff seat, Academy has four and no trial, prices are in euros, and the trial is a week shorter than Teachworks'.
Tutorbase: 1% of what you invoice, no subscription
Tutorbase charges "1% when you invoice", and says "You only pay a 1% fee when you create invoices through Tutorbase. No monthly subscription, no per-student charges, no credit card required to start" (Tutorbase pricing, home page). Invoices, rescheduling and card payments run through a branded student portal. Card and bank transfer fees are charged by your payment provider on top, not by Tutorbase.
What changes if you leave Teachworks for it: you stop paying per lesson and start paying a share of what you bill, so a quiet month costs little and nothing is due before you invoice.
Where it is weaker: 1% grows with your prices as well as your volume, so a tutor charging high rates pays more for the same lessons, and the pages we read do not state a classroom or the interface languages.
TutorBird: priced per tutor, not per lesson
TutorBird describes itself as "Affordable, all-in-one business management for Tutors" at US$16.95 a month plus US$4.95 per additional tutor or staff member, with a 30-day free trial (TutorBird pricing). Its integrations include Stripe, PayPal, Lessonspace, Zoom, Google Calendar, Outlook and QuickBooks, it sends email and SMS messages, and it is available in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, German and Polish.
What changes if you leave Teachworks for it: the bill stops counting lessons. One tutor pays US$16.95 whether they teach 20 student lessons or 300. The lesson still runs in a connected tool, as it does with Teachworks; TutorBird lists Zoom and Lessonspace among its integrations. If you are weighing TutorBird itself, the TutorBird alternatives compare the same field from the other side.
Where it is weaker: each extra tutor or staff member adds US$4.95 a month, where Teachworks includes unlimited teachers, and it hosts no video of its own.
TutorCruncher: built-in video, fees on payments
TutorCruncher calls itself "The most comprehensive software for tutoring companies". On its UK pricing page, Pay as you go starts at £25 a month with standard card fees of 2.65%, Startup at £60 a month with 2.3%, and Enterprise at £200 a month; payments taken outside its own methods carry a 1%, 0.65% or 0.5% fee by plan, and all prices are before tax (TutorCruncher pricing). It has its own video calling, with 20,000 minutes included at no extra cost, sends email and SMS reminders, and runs automatic payments and payroll. The trial is two weeks.
What changes if you leave Teachworks for it: video moves inside the software, and the per-lesson fee is replaced by a percentage of the money that passes through it.
Where it is weaker: the percentage applies even to payments it does not process, so the cost grows with revenue rather than staying put, and every plan on its pricing page is described for tutoring companies, from those starting out to large ones, not for a tutor working alone.
Wise: pay per session, Zoom bundled in
Wise is "tutor management software designed to streamline your tutoring business". Its Pay Per Session plan is for those who want to "Pay only for sessions you conduct", and its calculator shows US$160 a month for 200 sessions; there are also Pay Per Seat and Enterprise plans (Wise pricing). Zoom is "included and fully integrated", with licences bundled so there is no separate Zoom plan to buy. It processes online payments and says it does not take a cut from them (Wise).
What changes if you leave Teachworks for it: you still pay for usage, but per session rather than per student lesson, and Zoom comes with the platform instead of being linked from your calendar.
Where it is weaker: the cost still rises with every session you run, and the pricing page does not state the length of a trial or the Pay Per Seat price without opening the tab.
Which one fits you?
What we left out, and why
- Marketplaces such as Superprof, Preply or Wyzant. They supply students, which is a different job from running your own business with the students you already have, so they are not compared here.
- Booking and appointment apps. They handle the calendar and stop there. They are compared on the best tutoring appointment apps.
- Course platforms and learning management systems for self-paced or school-style courses. They are covered on Google Classroom alternatives for tutors.
- My Music Staff. TutorBird's own pricing page sends private music teachers to it, and its price is the same as TutorBird's, US$16.95 a month plus US$4.95 per extra teacher or staff member (My Music Staff pricing). If you teach music, read the TutorBird section with My Music Staff in mind.
- Lessonspace. It is a lesson space that TutorBird lists among its integrations, not software to run a tutoring business, so it is not a replacement for Teachworks.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Teachworks cost?
Teachworks bills a monthly base plus a fee per student lesson: Starter is US$16.49 a month plus US$0.320 per student lesson, Growth US$47.99 plus US$0.189 and Premium US$187.99 plus US$0.065, read on its pricing page on 24 October 2026. A lesson with two students counts as two student lessons, and cancelled lessons are not counted. There is a 21-day free trial.
What is the cheapest alternative to Teachworks?
It depends on how many lessons you teach and how you are paid. Tutorbase and Class Manager have no monthly subscription and take a fee on what you bill or collect online. TutorBird is US$16.95 a month for one tutor however many lessons you teach. Teamlilit is a flat 29 euros a month on Solo for one-to-one lessons. At low volume Teachworks Starter is hard to beat: 50 student lessons cost US$32.49 a month.
Does Teachworks have a built-in video classroom?
Its own pages describe connecting an external tool rather than hosting video. The Location Links add-on turns a location into a clickable link to Zoom, Google Meet, Skype or any whiteboard or conferencing tool that gives you a room link, and that link appears in the calendar and in lesson reminder emails.
Which Teachworks alternatives have a classroom built in?
TutorCruncher has its own video calling with 20,000 minutes included at no extra cost. Teamlilit hosts a browser classroom with video, screen sharing, a whiteboard and chat. Wise bundles Zoom licences into its platform. TutorBird lists Zoom and Lessonspace among its integrations, so like Teachworks it runs the lesson in a connected tool. The other alternatives here do not state a classroom on the pages we read.
Is Teamlilit cheaper than Teachworks?
Not always, and the currencies differ. Teachworks Starter costs US$48.49 a month at 100 student lessons and US$80.49 at 200. Teamlilit is a flat 29 euros a month on Solo for one-to-one lessons, or 69 euros on Pro with group classes, whatever the number of lessons. Teamlilit includes its classroom but does not take card payments, which Teachworks does through Stripe.
Sources
- 1Pricing · TeachworksPlans, per student lesson fees, how lessons are counted, unlimited users, branch accounts and the 21-day trial. Read 24 October 2026.
- 2Online tutoring software add-on · TeachworksLocation Links to Zoom, Google Meet, Skype or any external whiteboard or conferencing tool. Read 24 October 2026.
- 3Stripe integration · TeachworksOnline card payments recorded automatically. Read 24 October 2026.
- 4Prices · Class ManagerNo monthly subscription, a flat service charge on payments processed online, AutoPay via Stripe. Read 24 October 2026.
- 5Pricing · Oases OnlinePlans by active students from US$99 to US$699 a month, payment processing, free demo. Read 24 October 2026.
- 6Pricing · Teach ’n GoBands by live students in euros and US dollars, 14-day trial without a card, 24 languages. Read 24 October 2026.
- 7Manage online school fees and payments · Teach ’n GoStripe or PayPal payments for parents and students. Read 24 October 2026.
- 8Pricing · Tutorbase1% when you invoice, payment provider fees separate, no card needed. Read 24 October 2026.
- 9Home page · TutorbaseNo monthly subscription or per-student charges, card payments through a student portal. Read 24 October 2026.
- 10Pricing · TutorBirdPrice per tutor, 30-day trial, integrations, messaging, languages, and the pointer to My Music Staff. Read 24 October 2026.
- 11Pricing (UK) · TutorCruncherPlans in pounds before tax, card and offline payment fees, built-in video, two-week trial. Read 24 October 2026.
- 12Pricing · WisePay Per Session calculator, Pay Per Seat and Enterprise plans, Zoom licences bundled. Read 24 October 2026.
- 13Home page · WiseOnline payments and invoicing. Read 24 October 2026.
- 14Pricing · My Music StaffPrice per teacher. Read 24 October 2026.
- 15Teamlilit facts · TeamlilitWhat Teamlilit does and does not do, plans and trial.
- 16Pricing · TeamlilitSolo, Pro and Academy list prices in euros.
Prices and features were checked on each vendor's own pages on 24 October 2026. Vendors change their plans, so open the source links before you decide.
Changelog and corrections
- 24 October 2026: first published. Every vendor page above was read on the same day. The facts are re-read every 90 days; the next check is due by 22 January 2027.
If you work at one of these companies and something here is out of date, write to support@teamlilit.com. We correct verified errors within 5 working days and note the change here.



