Teamlilit makes one of the tools on this list. We wrote this comparison ourselves, nobody paid to be included, and every fact about another product links to that company's own page, read on 24 October 2026.
The eight alternatives are Class Manager, Oases Online, Teach 'n Go, Teachworks, Teamlilit, Tutorbase, TutorCruncher and Wise. Two things separate them more than any feature list. The first is how the price moves: per tutor (TutorBird itself), per student lesson (Teachworks), per active or live student (Oases Online, Teach 'n Go), a percentage of what you invoice or collect (Tutorbase, Class Manager, and TutorCruncher on top of a monthly fee), per session (Wise), or a flat monthly plan (Teamlilit). The second is where the lesson happens: in a classroom the software hosts (Teamlilit, TutorCruncher), in a video tool it connects or bundles (Teachworks, Wise, and TutorBird itself), or nowhere it states (the rest).
Why tutors look for an alternative to TutorBird
Only structural reasons appear here, the ones you can check on TutorBird's own pages. We do not repeat complaints we cannot verify.
- The price grows with your team. TutorBird costs US$16.95 a month, plus US$4.95 for each additional tutor or staff member (TutorBird pricing). For a solo tutor that is low. For a growing agency it adds up per head, and some owners prefer a price tied to lessons, students or revenue instead.
- Online lessons run in another tool. TutorBird lists Zoom and Lessonspace among its integrations (TutorBird pricing). The lesson itself happens in the connected tool, so the video account, its links and its limits are a second thing to manage and pay for.
If neither of those bothers you, the next section matters more than the rest of the page.
Where TutorBird is still the better choice
- Subscription price. Against Teamlilit, TutorBird is cheaper at every tutor count: US$16.95 for one tutor against €29 for Teamlilit Solo, and US$31.80 for four tutors against €119 for Teamlilit Academy, which includes four staff seats.
- A long trial. 30 days free (TutorBird pricing), longer than any other trial stated on this page.
- Text messages. Bulk email and SMS messaging are listed in what the price includes. Teamlilit sends no SMS.
- Payments. Stripe and PayPal are among its integrations, so families can pay online.
- Languages. Six interface languages: English, French, Spanish, Dutch, German and Polish.
A solo or small team that teaches mostly in person, or is happy in Zoom, and wants card payments and texts at a low price is well served by TutorBird. Moving is worth it when one of the two structural reasons above actually costs you time or money.
The comparison at a glance
Prices are each vendor's own list prices, in the currency the vendor states, read on 24 October 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say, not that the product lacks it.
Who each one is for, and what it costs
| Product | Who it is for | How the price scales | From |
|---|---|---|---|
| TutorBird (for reference) | "Business management for Tutors" | Per tutor or staff member | US$16.95/month + US$4.95 per extra tutor or staff member |
| Class Manager | Class-based schools and studios | Service charge on payments processed online, no subscription | No monthly subscription; charge not published |
| Oases Online | Tutoring centres, test-prep companies, after-school programmes | By active students | US$99/month up to 25 active students |
| Teach 'n Go | Schools, with unlimited teachers and classes | By live students | €69 or US$79/month up to 100 live students |
| Teachworks | Tutoring centres, language, music and driving schools | Monthly fee + per student lesson | US$16.49/month + US$0.320 per student lesson |
| Teamlilit | Independent tutors and small teaching businesses | Flat monthly plan | €29/month (Solo) |
| Tutorbase | Tutoring businesses | 1% of what you invoice, no subscription | Free to use; 1% when you invoice |
| TutorCruncher | Tutoring companies | Monthly fee + a percentage of payments | £25/month + 2.65% card fees, excluding tax |
| Wise | Tutoring businesses, including those working with freelancers | Per session (also per seat or enterprise) | US$160/month for 200 sessions |
Trial, lessons, payments and languages
| Product | Trial | Classroom | Online payments | Languages |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TutorBird (for reference) | 30 days | Integrated (Zoom, Lessonspace) | Stripe, PayPal | English, French, Spanish, Dutch, German, Polish |
| Class Manager | Free account | Not stated | AutoPay via Stripe | Not stated |
| Oases Online | Free demo; trial not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
| Teach 'n Go | 14 days, no card | Not stated | Stripe or PayPal | 24 languages |
| Teachworks | 21 days | Integrated (link to Zoom, Google Meet, Skype or any tool) | Stripe | Not stated |
| Teamlilit | 14 days, no card | Hosted in the browser | No: you are paid directly | English, French, Spanish, German |
| Tutorbase | Free to use, no card | Not stated | Card payments through its student portal | Not stated |
| TutorCruncher | 2 weeks | Hosted (built-in video, 20,000 minutes included) | Yes | Not stated |
| Wise | Free to start; length not stated | Integrated (Zoom licences bundled) | Yes, no cut taken | Not stated |
Which one fits you?
Class Manager: no subscription, a charge on online payments
Class Manager replaces TutorBird's per-tutor subscription with no monthly subscription at all: it takes "a flat service charge for any payments processed online", and offers tailored pricing for high volumes (Class Manager prices). The rate itself is not published on that page.
What it names: AutoPay via Stripe, a self-service parent and student portal, and digital attendance tracking. Its pages lean towards classes, pay-as-you-go and drop-in sessions, and studios.
What changes if you leave TutorBird for it: you stop paying per tutor and start paying on what families pay online. That suits a business where most money already moves by card.
Where it is weaker: the service charge is not published, so you cannot compare it with TutorBird's US$16.95 until you ask. A classroom and interface languages are not stated on the pages we read.
Oases Online: priced by active students, for centres
Oases Online has supported tutoring businesses since 2003 and describes itself as built "for tutoring centers, test-prep companies, after-school programs, and other session-based education providers" (Oases Online). The price follows your active students: Starter is US$99 a month for up to 25, rising to Ultimate at US$699 for up to 350 (Oases Online pricing). It states secure payment processing and automated invoicing.
What changes if you leave TutorBird for it: adding tutors stops changing the price; adding students does. That favours a centre with many tutors and a stable roster.
Where it is weaker: the entry price is far above TutorBird's for a small business, it offers a free demo rather than a stated trial, and a classroom is not stated.
Teach 'n Go: priced by live students, with many languages
Teach 'n Go presents itself as everything "you need to run your school", with unlimited teachers and classes on every plan (Teach 'n Go pricing). The standard plan is €69 or US$79 a month for up to 100 live students, and Pro is €99 or US$109; bands continue up to 2,000 live students. The trial is 14 days without a card. Parents and students can pay through Stripe or PayPal (Teach 'n Go payments), and the system supports 24 languages.
What changes if you leave TutorBird for it: the price stops depending on how many teachers you have and starts depending on how many students are live. It also offers far more interface languages than TutorBird's six.
Where it is weaker: for one or two tutors the entry price is several times TutorBird's, and a classroom is not stated.
Teachworks: a fee per student lesson
Teachworks keeps a low base price and adds a charge for each student lesson: Starter is US$16.49 a month plus US$0.320 per student lesson, Growth US$47.99 plus US$0.189, and Premium US$187.99 plus US$0.065, with unlimited students, teachers and user accounts and a 21-day trial (Teachworks pricing). Like TutorBird, it links out for online lessons: its location links work "with any external whiteboard & conferencing tools", including Zoom, Google Meet and Skype (Teachworks online tutoring add-on). Card payments go through Stripe (Teachworks Stripe integration).
What changes if you leave TutorBird for it: extra tutors cost nothing extra, but every student lesson does. A busy solo tutor can pay more than on TutorBird; an agency with many part-time tutors can pay less.
Where it is weaker: the lesson still runs in a separate tool, exactly as on TutorBird, so it does not solve that reason for leaving. Interface languages are not stated. Our Teamlilit vs Teachworks page works through the per-lesson arithmetic.
Teamlilit: the classroom inside, at a flat price
Teamlilit is the tool we make. It is a flat monthly plan, €29 (Solo), €69 (Pro) or €119 (Academy), with a 14-day trial and no card needed (Teamlilit pricing). The difference from TutorBird is where the lesson happens: Teamlilit includes a browser classroom with video, screen sharing, a collaborative whiteboard and chat, so you do not need Zoom (classroom). When students join, their join and leave times are recorded automatically, and invoice lines are generated from the lessons each student actually attended, at that student's rate (invoicing). A monthly schedule drafts invoices from tracked lessons for you to review and send.
What changes if you leave TutorBird for it: the video tool, the attendance record and the invoice come from the same lesson, so there is no link to paste and no register to fill in afterwards. The interface is in English, French, Spanish and German.
Where it is weaker: it costs more than TutorBird at every tutor count. It does not collect or process payments, so families pay you directly by your own method. It sends no SMS, only e-mail and in-app reminders. The Google Calendar sync is one-way, from Teamlilit to Google, and it does not sync with QuickBooks or Xero. Solo and Pro have one staff seat each; teams need Academy. The full head-to-head is on Teamlilit vs TutorBird.
Tutorbase: 1% of what you invoice
Tutorbase describes itself as "all-in-one tutoring management software designed to schedule lessons, automate billing, and manage leads" (Tutorbase). It has no subscription: "You only pay a 1% fee when you create invoices through Tutorbase", with no per-student charges and no card needed to start (Tutorbase pricing). Card payments run through a branded student portal, and the payment provider charges its own processing fees on top.
What changes if you leave TutorBird for it: the cost follows your invoicing instead of your headcount. At 1%, it costs less than TutorBird's US$16.95 while you invoice under about US$1,695 a month, and more above that.
Where it is weaker: a growing business pays more each month as revenue grows, with card fees on top. A classroom and interface languages are not stated on the pages we read.
TutorCruncher: built for tutoring companies
TutorCruncher calls itself "the most comprehensive software for tutoring companies" (TutorCruncher pricing). Its UK page lists Pay as you go from £25 a month with standard card fees of 2.65%, Startup from £60 with 2.3%, and Enterprise from £200, all excluding tax; payments made outside its integrated methods carry 1%, 0.65% or 0.5% by plan. It has a built-in video calling system with 20,000 minutes included, email and SMS lesson reminders, automatic payments and payroll, and a 2-week free trial.
What changes if you leave TutorBird for it: lessons can run inside TutorCruncher's own video, and payroll for tutors is part of the product. You trade a per-tutor price for a monthly fee plus a percentage of what families pay.
Where it is weaker: the percentage grows with your revenue, and even payments you take outside it carry a fee. For a solo tutor the base price is higher than TutorBird's. Interface languages are not stated. See Teamlilit vs TutorCruncher for the fee structure in detail.
Wise: pay per session, Zoom included
Wise describes itself as tutor management software "designed to streamline your tutoring business" (Wise). Its pay-per-session plan charges only for sessions you run, "ideal if you work with freelancers", and its calculator shows US$160 a month for 200 sessions; Pay Per Seat and Enterprise plans are also listed (Wise pricing). Zoom is "included and fully integrated", with licences bundled so you do not buy a separate Zoom plan. It processes online payments and says it does not take a cut.
What changes if you leave TutorBird for it: you stop running Zoom as a separate subscription, and the price follows the sessions taught rather than the number of tutors.
Where it is weaker: the lesson is still a Zoom meeting, bundled rather than built in. The trial length and the per-seat price are not stated on the page we read, and neither are interface languages.
What we left out, and why
- My Music Staff. TutorBird's own pricing page sends private music teachers to it ("Are you a private music teacher? Check out My Music Staff."), and it lists the same price: US$16.95 a month plus US$4.95 per extra teacher or staff member, with a 30-day trial (My Music Staff pricing). It is TutorBird's counterpart for music teachers, not a different approach.
- Marketplaces such as Superprof or Preply. They supply students and take a commission or a fee; they do not run your own students' lessons and billing.
- Generic booking apps such as Calendly or SimplyBook.me. They handle appointments but not student records, attendance or invoices. They are compared on Best Tutoring Appointment Apps.
- Classroom tools on their own, such as Lessonspace. They host the lesson but not the business. If you came to TutorBird from Google Classroom, see Google Classroom alternatives for tutors.
If you are also weighing Teachworks, Teachworks alternatives covers the same field from that starting point.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a cheaper alternative to TutorBird?
On subscription price, TutorBird is already one of the cheapest tools here: US$16.95 a month for one tutor, plus US$4.95 for each extra tutor or staff member. The alternatives that can cost less charge in a different way. Tutorbase has no subscription and takes 1% of what you invoice through it, so it costs less than US$16.95 while you invoice under about US$1,695 a month. Class Manager has no subscription and takes a service charge on payments processed online. Wise charges per session. Which one comes out cheaper depends on how much you teach and invoice.
Does TutorBird have a built-in video classroom?
TutorBird lists Zoom and Lessonspace among its integrations, so online lessons run in the tool you connect rather than inside TutorBird. If you want the classroom inside the software, Teamlilit hosts its own browser classroom with video, screen sharing, a whiteboard and chat, and TutorCruncher has built-in video with 20,000 minutes included. Wise bundles Zoom licences into its platform.
Which TutorBird alternatives take online payments?
Class Manager (AutoPay via Stripe), Oases Online, Teach 'n Go (Stripe or PayPal), Teachworks (Stripe), Tutorbase (card payments through its student portal), TutorCruncher and Wise all state that they take payments online. Teamlilit does not collect or process money: it builds invoices from attended lessons and you are paid directly by your own method.
Is My Music Staff a TutorBird alternative?
Not really. TutorBird's own pricing page sends private music teachers to My Music Staff, and My Music Staff lists the same price: US$16.95 a month plus US$4.95 per extra teacher or staff member, with a 30-day trial. It is TutorBird's counterpart for music teachers rather than a different approach, so it is not one of the eight tools compared here.
How we chose and checked
A product is on this page if a tutor or tutoring business uses it to run lessons or the business, it has a public pricing page on its own site, and it is not a marketplace that supplies students. Products are in alphabetical order, with no ranking and no scores. Every fact about another company comes from that company's own pages, read on 24 October 2026; nothing comes from review aggregators. Teamlilit's facts come from our facts page.
Changelog
- 24 October 2026: first published.
Corrections
If you work at one of these companies and something here is out of date, write to support@teamlilit.com. We correct verified errors within 5 working days and note the change in the changelog above.
Sources
- 1Pricing · TutorBirdUS$16.95 a month plus US$4.95 per extra tutor or staff member, 30-day trial, integrations, SMS messaging, six languages. Read 24 October 2026.
- 2Prices · Class ManagerNo monthly subscription, a flat service charge on payments processed online, AutoPay via Stripe. Read 24 October 2026.
- 3Tutoring business software and pricing · Oases OnlineUS$99 a month for up to 25 active students to US$699 for up to 350, payment processing, free demo. Read 24 October 2026.
- 4Pricing · Teach ’n GoFrom €69 or US$79 a month for up to 100 live students, 14-day trial, 24 languages. Read 24 October 2026.
- 5Manage online school fees and payments · Teach ’n GoStripe or PayPal payments. Read 24 October 2026.
- 6Pricing · TeachworksMonthly fee plus a charge per student lesson, 21-day trial. Read 24 October 2026.
- 7Online tutoring software add-on · TeachworksLocation links to Zoom, Google Meet, Skype or any external tool. Read 24 October 2026.
- 8Stripe integration · TeachworksOnline card payments recorded in Teachworks. Read 24 October 2026.
- 9Tutoring management software · TutorbaseNo subscription, 1% when you invoice, card payments through a student portal. Read 24 October 2026.
- 10Pricing · Tutorbase1% when you invoice, payment provider fees separate. Read 24 October 2026.
- 11Pricing (UK) · TutorCruncherFrom £25 a month plus 2.65% card fees, excluding tax; built-in video; 2-week trial. Read 24 October 2026.
- 12Pricing · WisePay per session, US$160 a month for 200 sessions, Zoom licences bundled. Read 24 October 2026.
- 13Tutor management software · WiseOnline payments with automated invoicing. Read 24 October 2026.
- 14Pricing · My Music StaffUS$16.95 a month plus US$4.95 per extra teacher or staff member, 30-day trial. Read 24 October 2026.
- 15Facts about Teamlilit · TeamlilitPlans, classroom, invoicing and what Teamlilit does not do.



